Skip to content

Pure rant, and you thought you were bummed before . . .

July 28, 2010

Well hello my loyal readers- it has been longer than I anticipated and I apologize for that.  I appreciate you all checking to see if I’ve gotten off the stick, and here I am.  It’s been a busy few weeks, my better half and I have been looking for a new apartment.  It’s kind of amazing the amount of “amenities” that are available in new apartment buildings these days.  We saw one building that had a theater- surround sound, huge HD tv, and 9 leather recliners.  Sounds pretty awesome right?!?  Yeah, we thought so too.  We didn’t pick that place, but it was tempting to be sure.

Lets talk baseball for just a second- go Bravos.  For real.  I haven’t been this excited about a Braves season since the 1991 one, notwithstanding the Marlins series.   I know, that’s not a big gap, especially if you are a Royals fan, but that’s what happens when your team is out of the playoffs for 4 years and it’s all Phillies, Mets, Phillies, blah blah.  My better half’s sort-of favorite player, Matt Diaz, has been unstoppable against lefties since his return.  Bring it on Matty.  And bring the J-Hey kid while you’re at it.

So what else is going on?

The oil spill changes its complexion every day, with the cap in place, it seemed like the immediacy of the problem was temporarily solved, but with the mysterious “seepage” . . . well, damn it all.  Someone remind me again why we’re undertaking a technology that results in such catastrophic results when it goes wrong, recognizing that we have no solutions for those disastrous results.   Anyone?  No?  Hmm . . .  Well, how about the fact that supposedly “serious” politicians (notice I didn’t say political thinkers) keep pushing this as an option?  Imagine what this country could have accomplished if we had spent on renewables (and no, not ethanol) half of what oil companies have spent in the last 10 years on oil exploration.  Makes me sick.   Any guesses as to Tony Hayward’s golden parachute number?

I was thinking the other week, while sipping on a Blue Moon on the Acela, that the current political system is bordering on broken.  Mostly due to the lemming-like quality of the so-called Republican party.  I say so-called mostly because the “loyal” opposition is nothing like the Republican party of my grandfather’s.  It looks less Eisenhower and more John Birch, and that’s scary.   And a “Tea Party” caucus on the House side.  Really?  The tea party is a legitimate independent movement the same way that my dog is actually “working on his letters” every time I say he is.  Saying something does not make it true.  Although I think the pup would be smarter if he could be, it’s really all about just working with him on not getting tangled up around trees and lightposts.

I will not deign to dirty this blog with any talk of Breitbart and Sherrod.  He’s no more a journalist than I am a circus performer.  But he is quite an acrobat in making people think he is seemingly important and relevant as a conservative voice- hell even NPR featured him as a figure of importance of the new right.  I think at that moment I really reconsidered my NPR donation.  That Breitbart is anything other than a rabble rouser run out of town on the rails says a lot about the dearth of real honest-to-goodness serious conservative voices.  I’d be embarrassed if I were a registered Republican.  Michele Bachman?  Steve King?  Louis Gohmert? James Inhofe?  Could you all go be crazy somewhere else less critical to the healthy function of this country?  Because honestly, you’re bringing me down.

I don’t have a fun historical fact to equate this week- partly because it was bar trivia tonight and I took 2 “Kamikaze” shots so that my team earned an extra 1,000 points and partly because this moment in our political history has no equivalent that I can think of.  If you can think of one please chime in with a comment.  We’re not close to the fall of Rome but the cancer from within is absolutely shameful.  I have a litany of other words as well, but I’m thinking about telling my grandmother about this blog and I don’t want to offend her too badly.  The DISCLOSE Act vote today, the Citizens United decision, the absolute black hole of “conservative” intellectualism, and the complete abdication of anything resembling a conscience by the right makes me sick.  We, as a country, need to be better.  The low road takes us nowhere good.

Here is a fun website.   It makes me laugh out loud.  Next time there will be history!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Betterpoint5 permalink
    July 28, 2010 2:05 pm

    I think another appropriate comparison to the pup is the phrase you use when he does go the wrong way around a tree or pole. You stop, look at him, say “use your brain,” and make him correct the problem himself. (It makes me laugh everytime). However, I think BP, the “Tea Party,” and probably all “serious polictians” (notice I didn’t say political thinkers) on both sides of the aisle could use these same instructions: Use your brains.

  2. anonymous uncle permalink
    August 6, 2010 11:42 am

    Here’s some interesting political history on a current topic…

    http://www.usatoday.com/news/opinion/forum/2010-08-06-engardio05_ST_N.htm

Leave a Reply

