Skip to content

Vacation Time is Good Time

August 19, 2010

Hello loyal readers!  I’m sorry that it’s been a while, I just moved this past weekend from a small NE town to a big east coast city.  Needless to say, it’s been taking up a bit of time.  And, my better half and I are off on a vacation tomorrow for a week!  We are very excited- there will be a beach.  Whether it will stop raining for us to actually get onto the beach remains to be seen, but we live in hope.

I’m hoping to have something up in the morning for you to chew on (namely the Community Center issue in NYC), but in case I don’t, have a lovely week.  We plan to.

By the way, yesterday (August 18th) was the 90th anniversary of the 19th Amendment’s passage, giving approximately 30% of the country the right to vote.  I say 30% because until the abolition of poll taxes, literacy tests, and the passage of the Voting Rights Act, African-Americans of either sex found it hard to vote.  It was Tennessee that was the 36th state to ratify the proposed amendment, pushing it from the land of proposed into the land of actual.  On August 26th it was certified and became, as “they” say, history.

Enjoy the rest of August, how quickly time flies.

PS- I listened to my 12 Byzantine Rulers podcast again recently, by Lars Brownworth.  He’s got a new book out called Lost to the West, and I’m planning on picking it up tonight for our trip.  You can find the podcast on iTunes and on the wonderful worldwide web, check it out if you’re at all interested in the word of the Byzantine Empire.  I’m not normally a pusher of stuff like this, but his podcast is 1) incredibly interesting and 2) free!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

