Skip to content

Miss Me?

February 2, 2013

Hello all!  I’m back.  Try not to squee with excitement too loudly.  You’re probably wondering where I’ve been the last few years and honestly, I couldn’t really say.  Work has been up and down, my better half and I bought a house and got engaged, but really I have no excuse.  I hope you’ll forgive me.

So, what did I miss?  Oh, you know, this and that and everything. 

Ninety-eight percent of the Republican party hopped a one-way train to crazy town, never to return.  I feel like they are a living breathing example of being careful what you wish for/don’t poke a sleeping dragon/don’t pull the mask off the old Lone Ranger, etc.  You get the point.  And now even formerly-somewhat-reasonable Republicans such as Lindsey Graham and Mitch McConnell are about to launch themselves the way of Orrin Hatch due to the threat of a primary challenge.  Obama embraced his base in his recent inauguration address; the other side must content themselves with a “with friends like these, who needs enemies” kind of relationship.  The clichés just write themselves.

Obama gets himself a second term and the Senate stayed blue (with some awesome new senators!).  All I will say is phew.  No, he’s not perfect, but he’s got vision and is not afraid to at least talk about climate change.  I have a feeling that EPA is going to be busy the next four years.

What’s next?  Well Obama has himself a pretty homogeneous new Cabinet so far, which is disappointing, but he now has Interior, Labor, Energy, EPA, and Transportation to fill.  I’m just waiting for the phone to ring – I’m sure it will any day now.  We’ve got immigration, gun control, VAWA, and climate change legislation on the way.  I think that we’ll also see a DOMA repeal bill, on top of a new ENDA bill.  One, or both, will pass.  That’s my prediction (waffly though it may be).  Passing a DOMA repeal would be a lot cooler than having our tax dollars continue to be used to defend it in court.

I’ve been reading/listening to a lot of different periods of history on top of a few books covering the recent financial fiascos.  I’m excited to get back into the politics/history writing – I’m an author for 2 different blogs at work, so it’s only fair that I get to write what I want in the anonymity of this one.  And rest assured, with a Congress that is less popular than cockroaches, there will be a lot to write about.

Thanks for joining me again.  I will talk to you soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

